One More Thing To Be Thankful For

It was the perfect start to a 4-day weekend.  I had made the appointment over a month ago, on a day that just sounded like a date in the month of November.  It turned out, I had booked a massage appointment on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, otherwise known as “Thanksgiving Eve.”

Sure, the plus side is the relaxation, the nice sendoff into the holiday weekend.  The drawback is that, if the boss did decide to let us all go home early, I wouldn’t be able to take advantage of the offer.

So, at 5:13, I left the office and went downstairs to my appointment.  An hour later, I was this relaxed tub of goo.  I went out to the desk to say goodbye until the next time, when a guy behind the counter looked like he wanted to say something…held back…and then, let it fly.  I’ve got to say, I’ve always appreciated an honest and candid thought and so when he offered up his message, while not what I expected to hear, it was very much appreciated.

I stood there in my post-massage stupor as he uttered the words: “Excuse me, but I think you have your shirt on inside out!”

Uh, yeah.  I excused myself, reversed it and came out for a quick “Thanks very much” before going on my way.

And since I was planning to stop at the store on the way home to pick up some milk, I will always be extremely grateful.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Tim Hunter

Leave a Reply

