Thanks

"Yeah, we're trying something different this year"

Being thankful is very trendy this week, but I’ll let you in on a little secret: appreciate the things you’ll been blessed with on a daily basis and you’ll be amazed at just how much you’ve got.

I tend to live that way.  My 30+ years in radio got me used to the routine of nothing being routine.  Every day HAD to be different.  I couldn’t get complacent and just walk through things.  Everything I did had to be fresh, new, interesting.  And if it wasn’t?  Poor ratings would be the result.

So I can’t just take things for granted, it’s not in me.  I need to observe, to notice the things around me and then, in my case, write a joke about ’em.  I saw that there was a new Facebook virus hoax–something about a Christmas tree–I combined that with the general feeling that Christmas is being pushed way too early and then created the line, “Call me old-fashioned, but I’m not opening any Christmas Tree virus until I’ve first opened all my Thanksgiving Day viruses.”

I don’t know which side of the family to give credit to, but whichever one bestowed upon me the comedy gene I am eternally grateful.  My dad’s sister, Aunt Jan, was a card and loved to laugh.  At the same time, my mom occasionally throws out a line and I’ll say, “Oh, so THAT’S where it came from.”

Maybe I got a little from each and it combined to give me whatever I’ve got.  In any case, it’s my warped comedic sense that has gotten me through the tough times. Just the other day, at a memorial service for a friend of mine, the minister had just said, “He’s now in a place where sickness and pain are a thing of the past” and before I could contain it, I blurted out to the friend next to me, “Thanks to the Obama health care plan”.

It would be easy to say “I’m thankful this year for my family and friends and good health…etc”, but I’m that way every day.  What I truly do appreciate is you–the reader, the audience, the person that responds.  When I write a line or produce a bit and someone thinks it actually is funny, that’s the greatest gift I could ever receive.  It’s what I love to do and to have someone say, “That’s great stuff!” means the world to me.

So thanks.  Thanks for reading this, for going along with me on this crazy ride called life and I promise until my final breath to do everything I can to make you crack up.  I’m pretty sure my final words are going to be, “Pull my finger and see what happens.”  Just remember, you’ve been warned.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Tim Hunter

Leave a Reply

