So what’s a fan to do?

So, earlier this year, I heard that Adam Lambert was going to appear this year at the Puyallup Fair (for out of staters, that’s the big one around here). When I found out that Orianthi–the female guitarist in Michael Jackson’s ill-fated “This is it” concert– was the opening act, I was sold and quickly bought my tickets.

Here’s my Ticketmaster receipt:

Adam Lambert with special guest Orianthi
The Puyallup Fair and Events Center, Puyallup, WA
Tue, Sep 21, 2010 07:30 PM

Order for: Timothy Hunter
Seat location: section INF G, row 8, seats 7-8
Total Charge: US $ 111.55

Great seats, should be a fun time….

And then, Victoria heard on the radio that Orianthi WASN”T going to be opening for Mr. Lambert.  I checked on the fair’s website and sure enough, she had been replaced with Allison, one of the rocker girl contestants from American Idol, I believe from last year.

So, what’s a fan to do?  I’m pretty sure I’m not going to see a partial refund.  But it doesn’t seem right that you could promote a concert with two artists and then once the tickets have been bought, switcheroo.  “Oh, it was supposed to be Carlos Santana but he couldn’t make it, so we got his cousin, Franco.”

To paraphrase Don Rickles: “I’d just like to wish Mr. Ticketmaster or whoever’s responsible a little tiny pimple on the middle of their upper lip.”

Grrrrrrrrr……..

Tim Hunter

Leave a Reply

