Old joke, old show

Ask any stand up comic and repeating jokes isn’t being lazy, it’s using material that you know will get a laugh.
Back in my morning show days, when we rode in area parades, I found that every 90 seconds or so, I could yell out, “I’m not running for anything” and the crowd always loved it.
Last night, I was the auctioneer at the Our Redeemer’s Lutheran Church auction. I may have used this line last year, but it got laughs again this year. I opened by introducing myself with “If you go to the 9am service and don’t recognize me, that’s because I go to the 10:30 service. If you go to the 10:30 service and don’t recognize me, that’s because I go to the 9am service.”
No doubt I’ll be telling that one again next year….

Tim Hunter

Leave a Reply

