Christmas Cards

Maybe it’s because I see the paper world shrinking that I feel compelled to keep sending Christmas cards as long as I can.  This year was tougher and I mailed the last of them just yesterday, three days before the holiday.  No way are most of them going to make it on time…but I, at least, got out the annual family update letter.

Several friends and companies are calling it “the green route” and sent out e-mail Christmas cards or Video Christmas cards.  One of the best was from my buddy Scott Burns.  Check this out:

While an entertaining spin, the thing is, I get e-mails and videos all year long.  Christmas is the one time of year that I actually hear from friends, mass letters or scribbled notes, in written hard-copy form. It’s one of the treats of the season.

I’ve known people who stopped sending out Christmas cards because of the hassle.  When you get right down to it, the whole season is a hassle, if you choose to look at it that way.  We’re doing things we don’t normally do, which we have to wedge into the busy routine we’ve built up for ourselves the rest of the year.  I guess I look forward to the “hassles” of the holidays.  They remind me of what used to be, of Christmas’s long ago, when my little rug rats ran around in PJ’s or even back to the days when I woke up to find that train set I had dreamed of.   I still have it in the basement.  I should set it up again for old times’ sake….but it would be a hassle.

Tim Hunter

Leave a Reply

