Thanks

It’s the day we’re supposed to give thanks.  I try be aware of everything I’m grateful for on a daily basis, but having this one day a year is actually a good reminder of the other things.  Think about it:  we’ve got the basics–health, job, loved ones, etc.  Everything else is just gravy.  Mmmmmmm, gravy.  If just for a moment while being distracted reading this blog, realize how much you DO have and how little you really need.

I’d say 99% of the folks I know are very fortunate.  Watching the news every night to see what’s wrong with the country I think is part of the problem.

One time while fishing up in Alaska, I asked the house cook if I could flip on the TV to catch CNN and see what was going on in the world.  She told me to go ahead, but said she could care less.  I asked, “Don’t you want to know what the rest of the world is up to?” and she replied, “My world is here.”

As is true with so many things in life, the truth is always somewhere in the middle.  We need to be aware of the rest of the world, but should not obsess about it.  My world really is right here.

And for that, I am very, very thankful.

Tim Hunter

Leave a Reply

